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How PipeCandy estimates the eCommerce revenue of a company

Ashwini Murthy
Ashwini Murthy
Jan 1, 1970
Min Read

Estimating the revenue of an ecommerce company isn’t really difficult. Estimating the eCommerce revenue with a high degree of accuracy is difficult to an extent. But, estimating the revenue with a high degree of accuracy when you have zilch internal data about the ecommerce company available is a Herculean task. At PipeCandy, that’s what we’re doing apart from a hundred other similar tasks. We’ve already talked about the basics of guessing an e-commerce company’s revenue. The formula is simple: Sales revenue = Number of transactions x Average transaction value Average transaction value Average transaction value, a.k.a., Average Order Value (AOV) = Average product price x Average basket size. Let’s say you have 5 pieces of clothing in your shopping cart (Basket size), and the average product price is $20, then, the transaction value is 5x20 = $100.Average product price and Average basket size differ from one category to the other. For example, from a fast fashion brand, an average consumer buys around 3-4 items in one transaction. But for a high-end luxury brand, the average basket size is usually 1 item. At PipeCandy, we crawled a few thousand websites to develop the eCommerce revenue model. So, we have a look-up sheet for the average basket size, average product price and conversion rate for each sub-category. Number of transactions =Conversion rate x Traffic (No. of unique visitors to the website)Conversion rates are easy to come across, thanks to benchmark reports released by companies like Monetate. At PipeCandy, we took average conversion rates for each industry and used machine learning to make it more accurate for each company. Let’s say the average conversion rate for apparel industry is 1.6%. It’s not going to be the same for apparel companies in all revenue ranges. Given the average conversion rate ‘x’, Conversion rates for top 10% (90-99th percentile) and top 25% (75th to 100th percentile) of the traffic is assumed to be 5x and 2x respectively.

Apparel category conversion rates

Apart from this, we also took multiple other attributes into account which improves the accuracy of our conversion rates, average basket size, and average product price. Some of these include:

  • Annual traffic - Accounting for season-based surges and Country-based traffic.
  • Product category and subcategory - Example: Category - Apparel & Accessories. Subcategory - Menswear, womenswear.
  • Own brand site/Other retail brand sites/Marketplace. Example: Adidas has its own website, presence on ASOS and Amazon. Traffic and conversion rates on each site might be different.
  • Product quality: Luxury/ Affordable Luxury/ Premium/ Budget/ Discount. Example: Luxury women’s fashion, premium women’s fashion, and Budget women’s fashion all have different average basket sizes and Average product prices.
fishbone

    Our eCommerce revenue estimates have a 75-80% accuracy level. Our revenue ranges are 99% accurate. How do we know that? We tested. We checked our revenue models with publicly available data and customers’ data. Here’s a quick glossary of all the terms:

  • Number of orders - Calculated based on traffic data and conversion rate
  • Number of orders = monthly visits * conversion rate
  • Average Order Value (AOV) - Estimated based on product category and subcategories
  • Online revenue - Estimated based on traffic data, product category and conversion rates
  • Online revenue = Monthly visits * Conversion rate * AOV
  • Average Basket size - Number of items sold in a single purchase
  • Items per shipment - Number of items that are packed in single shipping box
  • Average Basket size and items per shipment are based on product category and subcategories
  • Shipment volume - Estimated based on basket size, items per shipment, traffic and conversion rate
  • Shipment volume = (Monthly visits * conversion rate * basket size)/items per shipment

Want to know more about this and other kickass things we do? Talk to us.

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eCommerce-specfic lead qualification criteria
Freedom from non-Commerce databases.
Predictable demand generation. Very precise segmentation & messaging.
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eCommerce-specfic lead qualification criteria
Freedom from non-Commerce databases.
Predictable demand generation. Very precise segmentation & messaging.
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A writer by day. Illustrator by night. Currently trying to conquer the B2B marketing world one baby step at a time. Loves everything outside her comfort zone.
A writer by day. Illustrator by night. Currently trying to conquer the B2B marketing world one baby step at a time. Loves everything outside her comfort zone.
hm.com
HQ Location: Beaverton, Oregon, United States Of America, 97005
hm.com, operated by H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB, is an internationally-focused online store that generates eCommerce net sales primarily in Germany as well as in the United States and the United Kingdom. With regards to the product range, hm.com achieves the greatest part of its eCommerce net sales in the “Fashion” category.
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A writer by day. Illustrator by night. Currently trying to conquer the B2B marketing world one baby step at a time. Loves everything outside her comfort zone.
A writer by day. Illustrator by night. Currently trying to conquer the B2B marketing world one baby step at a time. Loves everything outside her comfort zone.
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